top of page

To the People: What are you waiting for?


The past couple weeks were something of a blur. They were jam-packed with the usual things but then these moments popped up that distracted and disturbed my usual schedule. The events were the things that could be life altering, but maybe not. I got a sort of emergency text from a protégé. She wanted to meet the next day but I didn’t have a moment free. It would need to wait a day. Thankfully it wasn’t a serious emergency. We met and it was one of those encounters where the thing is shared that can now allow real mentoring and friendship to develop. I am always grateful for that kind of trust and for the opportunity to be welcomed into the deep place of a person’s life. It is not something I take lightly.

Days later, I found myself with an opportunity before me. It is yet to be resolved, but in the midst of it all, I found myself contacting two people outside of our home. Both are mentors. They are the ones I go to when such things occur. They are the friends I call on for support, encouragement, and the advice needed to navigate the waters of adulthood.

This week also saw the passing of a wonderful man who impacted my life and the life of my husband. One afternoon several years ago, at a friend’s graduation party, I took the opportunity to tell that wonderful and gracious man just how thankful I was for what he was teaching my husband. I didn't say much as he was not at this event for me, but made sure to let him know what he meant to us. Within a few days, I received an incredible note with some beautiful penmanship regarding the conversation. I always had it on my mind to write back. I never got around to it and those intentions faded with time. Recently, another great man passed away from within that community, alumni were encouraged to write notes to the professor who passed away this week because it was known that his health was not good. The deadline was some time in early December so I had a few weeks. I forgot and remembered so I put it as an alert on my iCal so it would not get forgotten again. The morning the alert notification popped up, I soon after opened Facebook on my phone to learn of the news. It was too late.

Because of my husband's profession, I have found myself at more funerals and viewings in the past year and a half than in the 3 decades of my life combined. Some I barely knew and a few I was able to get to know enough to know I really liked them. Those are the ones where I find myself wishing I had visited more, checked in on them more, called more, or write more notes. I just didn’t do enough. There may not be enough, but we can still do something.

Today, I avoid my Facebook feed and the news. I know enough to know I don’t want to see more. At least 18 killed by a bomb while attending a funeral in Baghdad. And then 43 killed by suicide bombers in Beirut, Lebanon. And now Paris, France… Each of these devastating events occurred this week. Sure, we have everyday tasks needing to be dealt with like laundry and cooking for survival and to be sustained, but what about the other things? Do we put off the big things that matter for the sake of survival? Do we give away our time to the menial tasks that consume most of our days rather than for the greater good, the words of encouragement needed, or the impact we could make?

I know I am guilty of such things, of missing those moments to be an encourager. It might not have the huge, life changing impact we could hope for, but maybe it will? Maybe all the little moments and words and times we step away from our own tasks to give to another will add up to something greater? That maybe is enough for me. Don’t wait until tomorrow to write that note or make that call. When you notice someone’s touch on your life for the good, let them know it!

Thank you to my mentors. You upheld me and challenged me just as I needed you to this past week. And I know you will be the ones I call the next time too, because you have proven time and time again that you care and that I matter. Thank you.

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Mentor's

 

Table

 

bottom of page