top of page

It's Nat'l Mentoring Month ~ Who Made You?‏

The notion of the "Self-Made Man" -- and usually it is a man who is reveling in the idiocy of such a notion as all my friends who are women seem to embrace helping others grow -- will always find takers. It's sort of nice to think we are self-sufficient radical individuals, at least until our own back itches. Then, having someone near that you trust can come in handy. As National Mentoring Month begins, let's reinvest our energies into the lives of others, and re-enroll into those relationship which have made us, and are making us.

To be sure, no one "needs" to have a mentor.

However, each of the great masters seem to have had one. In his book, Mastery, Robert Green reviews stories of great lives: Leonardo DaVinci, Ben Franklin, and Albert Einstein. All knew the benefits of learning directly from credible teachers who had time, expertise, and capacity to shape their protégés. This is not only true when we look at notable historical lives, but it's most likely true in our own lives.

Think of well-renowned leaders, performers, and artists and see if the pattern still rings true. The pattern is certainly true in my life.

  • I Learned to Be Myself as a Teacher. When I think of how I shaped my classroom experiences to be unconventionally theatrical throughout my teaching career, I have to thank Dr. Darlene Graves, a drama professor in my Ph.D. program.

  • I Learned to Be Culturally Curious as a Leader. When I think of my deepest insights regarding culture and international friend-making, I have to thank Joe Stearns, an anthropologist in my college days, who translated years of missionary service to simple-to-understand practices that would hopefully erase for some the painful effects of "The Ugly American."

  • I Learned to be Provocative as a Consultant and Coach. When I think of how I shape my consulting engagements for clients to be provocative, life-deepening, and profitable along multiple bottom lines for my clients, I have to thank Bobb Biehl and his modeling of the consulting process.

  • I Learned to be a Cheerleading Parent. When I think of how to be a joyfully attentive father, I have to thank Billy and Lynn Diggs, parents of four daughters, who made time for me when I was a young, single man trying to find my way through the twists and turns of wholesome relationships, youthfully adding to the beautiful work of my own parents through their example.

These mentors (and there are many more who could be named) shaped me. From their lessons, I pay it forward and contribute to the shaping of others. Was mentoring a need in my life? No, not like water and oxygen and food are needs. However, if mastery is an aim in your life, if you want to grow beyond the capacities you know yourself to have, and you don't mind a little help along the way, it's possible mentoring may be what you need.

National Mentoring Month kicks off the first month of this year and every year by making room for the growth of someone around you to become your personal priority. Let someone you admire and gain from leave a legacy in you by inviting them to join your growth as your mentor.

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Mentor's

 

Table

 

bottom of page